Event at Twilight (Writing Exercise)


Continuing on with the writing exercises, here is another attempt to use no adverbs or adjectives.  The style of this one is very, very different than the other two, but maintains that maxim of not using modifying words EXCEPT nouns or verbs.

If you feel like trying something like this, give it a shot!  You can post here in my comments, or on your own blog and let me know about your post!  I’d love to see your work.  🙂

=================================

Buzzing, whining, annoying. Swatting, missing, distracted. Stinging, pinching, shouting, frustration and anger. Slapping, chasing, lost in the dark.

Swirling, dizzying … staggering … hand on forehead … confusion … .

Falling … panting … gasping … vision blurring … .

Numb … cold, shivering … darkness … fading, fading … .

Nothingness.

 

 

ALL Original Content Copyright 2008 J. Dane Tyler
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED
2 thoughts on “Event at Twilight (Writing Exercise)

  1. Hmmm. Sounds interesting. I don’t have time now, but I’ll try it. Sounds fun. I’m always up for a challenge.

    It’s a great learning and stretching exercise. Use it whenever you’re trying to limber up your writerly mental-muscles. 🙂

  2. Reminds me of the time I was having a picnik in a cave and those evil bee-bat hybrids attacked. Devilish creatures they.

    Cool excercise. I’ll have to give it a go sometime.

    I hope you do give it a try! You’ll be amazed how strong your prose gets through exercises like this. Good to see you!

Leave a Reply

